There are currently 1244 articles in the compendium

The Arctic

Today, most of the Arctic falls within states where a majority of the inhabitants live outside the Arctic region, with a range of political structures to govern the relationship between the nation states and their northern regions. Canada, Denmark/Greenland, Norway, Russia and the United States are the 5 coastal states of the Arctic. The Arctic 8 are composed of the 5 coastal states in addition to Finland, Iceland and Sweden. A number of non-Arctic states are claiming legitimate stakeholder rights with regard to Arctic issues.


The Arctic 8 are member states of the Arctic Council.

Guidelines for the next two years work in the Arctic Council: The Tromsø Declaration.

Geographical Coverage

Population distribution in the circumpolar Arctic